The Chamber would like to thank the following sponsors:



View Chamber Events

View Community Events

  • Printer Friendly
HomeNewsPress Releases

News   Press Releases


Chamber Recognizes Outstanding Business Leaders at 13th Annual Meeting

More than 400 business leaders and business representatives attended the York County Regional Chamber of Commerce’s 13th Annual Meeting. The Chamber's largest event of the year was held on Jan. 19 at the Baxter M. Hood Continuing Education Center in Rock Hill. The presenting sponsor was Wells Fargo.

The special celebration featured a business program highlighting the Chamber’s 2011 accomplishments and a review of goals for 2012. The program also included the passage of the Regional Board of Directors gavel from 2011 Chair Marvin Smith (retired general manager of Domtar) to 2012 Chair Toy Rhea (owner of Gala Affairs Party Rentals).

Several were recognized with awards for their outstanding achievements in business. The recipients and awards are as follows:

  • Ambassador of the Year: Karl Stuppnig of Northwestern Mutual Financial Network   (Sponsored by Agape Senior of the Piedmont Region)

  • Fort Mill Area Business Person of the Year: Raye Felder of Allstate Insurance  (Sponsored by Fort Mill Times)

  • Rock Hill Area Business Person of the Year: Allan Miller of WRHI and WRHM Radio  (Sponsored by First Citizens)               
  • Tega Cay Area Business Person of the Year: Robert Messer of Walmart Tega Cay  (Sponsored by South Carolina Bank & Trust )

  • Citizenship and Service Award, in Memory of Eddie Black: Jerry Helms of Carowinds  (Sponsored by Duke Energy)

  • Small Business Person of the Year & Small Business Achiever: Doug Hinson of O’Darby’s Fine Wine & Spirits  (Sponsored by Small Business Development Center at Winthrop University)

  • Small Business Achiever: Deborah Long of Fort Mill Vision Center

  • Small Business Achiever: John McCann of McCann Motivations

  • Small Business Achiever: Nick Wimmer of Camp Canaan

  • Lifetime Business Achievement: Frank S. Barnes, Jr., Edwin L. Barnes, Ladson A. Barnes, Jr. and John M. Barnes - Founders of Comporium Communications  (Sponsored by Wells Fargo)

See photos of the award recipients here.

The annual meeting was sponsored by the following: presenting sponsor, Wells Fargo; gold, Comporium Communications, Founders Federal Credit Union, Gala Affairs Party Rentals, Outback Steakhouse and Resolute Forest Products; silver, Bernard N. Ackerman CPA PA, Carowinds, Duke Energy/Catawba Nuclear Station, First Citizens, Steele Creek Printing & Design, South Carolina Bank & Trust, Wells Fargo Home Mortgage, Williams & Fudge, WMYT MY TV 12, Winthrop University, WRHI 1340-AM & 94.3-FM and York County Natural Gas Authority; bronze, Allen Tate, BB&T, Citizens South Bank, City of Rock Hill, O’Darby’s Fine Wine & Spirits, T E Connectivity, York County Government and York Technical College; and patron, Peoples First Insurance, Springs Global and The Herald.

116 E. Main St. | Rock Hill, SC 29730 | Tel 803/324-7500 | Fax 803/324-1889 | Email